Manuela by Muriel Despiau

Manuela Noble

Profile

 Artistic approach

Artiste peintre transversale

 Performance Bodypainter  - Fine Art Photographer

 Registered with the Maison des  Artistes
Paris. N° C882090

 

Manuela by Jean Barak

Profile

Manuela is profoundly marked by her European and African origins. Her roots spread from Cape Verde and Morocco to Portugal and France. Having been an expert guide-interpreter, translator and painter, she soon began devoting all her time to attending open workshops at the Ecole Supérieure d’Art (Art College) in Aix-en-Provence, while taking classes in live-model drawing, painting techniques and digital photography. Manuela is now fully dedicated to her artistic pursuits in Aix-en-Provence.

 

Artistic Approach

Her multidisciplinarity, curiosity, taste for improvising and experimenting, combined with her sensitivity and affinity for the living has taken her from framed canvases to unprepared canvases before painting directly on bodies in a performance-art configuration. The ephemeral, in situ creations, collective projects and the fleeting existence of her art are key to her motivation.

Moving from her studio into the street to perform her ‘living’ art either in public or private enables her to question the role of the denuded female body.

She does this by performing in places that may seem inappropriate for semi-nude models or by harnessing the bodies of dancers swathed in fabric and paint in its most natural expression.

Manuela came to incorporate photography into her artistic approach at a later date. Having attracted photographers intrigued by her method of expression, she soon felt compelled to photograph her own performances to crystallise her artistic cycle by her own means.

Fine art photography has since opened the door to a myriad of creative possibilities.

 

Bodypainting projects

Such projects are based on fostering a collective artistic process where experimentation acts as the source of inspiration for Manuela Noble – artist and body painter – and the dancers, musicians, photographers and video artists who also believe in the art of multidisciplinarity.

This is why Manuela is involved in street art, performing arts and performance through a range of events and workshops:

- Creating multidisciplinary performances for cultural projects as part of events, festivals, street art, stage shows, dance performances, concerts and plays hosted   by private/ public bodies

- Shooting photos, videos and film clips (partnerships with photographers and video artists)

- Organising workshops.

 

Solo exhibitions

Painting on inert media – a pivotal lever – gives her the means to alternate between collective projects and solo exhibitions (paintings and photographs).

- Paintings on different media

- Photographs on different media

Her body painting creations can be described as expressionist and are always abstract.

On canvas, she has been qualified as having an expressionist, semi-figurative style currently moving towards abstraction.

Inspirations: Emil Nolde, Georg Baselitz, Anish Kapoor, Miguel Barcelo, Munch, Beuys, Gerhard Richter, Francis Bacon, Dieter Hacker, Swymkowicz, Ernest Pignon Ernest, Franz Marc, Egon Schiele, Chagall, Matisse, Le Caravage, Turner, Paul Cezanne, Van Gogh, Delacroix, Marina Abramovic, Vanessa Beecroft, Cindy Sherman, Valie Export, Enki Bilal, Pina Baush, de Keersmeker, Découfflé, Bartabas ; graffiti, prehistoric paintings, African art and native American art, Provence.

 

 

 

 

 

 

<!--[if gte mso 9]> <w:LsdException Locked="false" Priority="60" Se

Manuela by Muriel Despiau

Manuela Noble

Artiste plasticienne - Photographe -  Bodypainter performeuse 

 Inscrite à la Maison des  Artistes
Paris. N° C882090 - Siret 39976246700054

 

Manuela by Jean Barak

Parcours

De ses origines européennes et africaines, Manuela garde les empreintes. Ses racines sont au Cap-Vert et au Maroc, à Lisbonne et en France. Successivement guide-interprète, traductrice et peintre, après une fréquentation assidue aux Ateliers Ouverts de l’Ecole Supérieure d’Art d’Aix-en-Provence, aux Ateliers de Modèle Vivant, de Peinture et de Photographie Numérique. Manuela privilégie aujourd’hui sa vie d’artiste à Aix-en-Provence.

 

Démarche artistique

Sa pluridisciplinarité, sa curiosité, son goût pour l’improvisation, l’expérimentation, le sensible, le vivant la portent de la toile sur châssis vers la toile libre, puis vers la peinture directe sur les corps, et la performance. L’éphémère, la création in situ, la non conservation de l’œuvre, le travail en collectif sont ses principales motivations.

Passer de l’intérieur de l’atelier à la rue pour pratiquer l’art du vivant, dans des lieux publics et privés, afin de questionner la place du corps dévêtu de la femme. Elle interroge sur sa représentation en agissant sur des lieux pas forcément adéquats pour la semi-nudité, ou bien en relayant vêtements textiles par la peinture brute, jetée à nu, sur les corps en interprétation dansée.

La photographie arrive plus tard dans ce travail. La cristallisation s’inscrit d’abord par le regard de photographes tiers intéressés par cette démarche. Ensuite, Manuela ressent le besoin de photographier ses propres performances pour clore le cycle, en solo cette fois.

La photographie plasticienne lui offre de multiples champs de création.

 

Performance et Bodypainting

Aventure artistique collective. L’expérimentation est à la source de ce travail transversal né entre Manuela Noble, artiste peintre et bodypainter et des artistes danseurs, musiciens, photographes, vidéastes. La transversalité des arts lui tient à cœur et constitue autant de sources d’inspiration.

Manuela pratique l’Art de la Rue, le spectacle vivant, la performance, s’intègre aux évènements, organise des ateliers - Créations de Performances Transversales pour des projets culturels privés ou institutionnels, Evènementiel, Festivals, Spectacles de rue, Spectacles sur Scène, Danse, Concerts, Théâtre, shooting photos, Vidéo, vidéoclips, partenariats avec photographes et vidéastes - Créations d'Ateliers & Workshops

 

Photographie

La photographie plasticienne fait partie intégrante de sa production artistique depuis 2013. Manuela a participé à de nombreuses expossitions.

Elle travaille ses oeuvres originales seule ou sur demande pour la création d'oeuvre originale et personnalisée.

 

Ses réalisations sur toile et sur le corps, sont expressionnistes et toujours abstraites.

Ses photographies sont également expressionnistes, modernes, avec une tendance plus récente vers l'abstraction.

Inspirations : Emil Nolde, Georg Baselitz, Anish Kapoor, Miguel Barcelo, Munch, Beuys, Gerhard Richter, Francis Bacon, Dieter Hacker, Swymkowicz, Ernest Pignon Ernest, Franz Marc, Egon Schiele, Chagall, Matisse, Le Caravage, Turner, Paul Cezanne, Van Gogh, Delacroix, Marina Abramovic, Vanessa Beecroft, Cindy Sherman, Valie Export, Enki Bilal, Pina Baush, de Keersmaeker, Découfflé, Bartabas, le graffiti, les fresques préhistoriques, l’art africain et l’art indien d’Amérique du nord, la figuration provençale.

Membre AFCAE France Chine Art Expo Paris - Membre FPF Fédération Française de Photographie - Membre Café Photo Marseille - Membre Fontaine Obscure Aix-en-Provence - Membre GUDGI Groupement des Galeries Indépendantes d'Aix-en-Provence - Membre WBA World Bodypainting Association